Q. I HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH A DWI OFFENSE IN NEW JERSEY, WILL I LOSE MY LICENSE?
A. If you are convicted of or enter a guilty plea to DWI a suspension of your license is mandatory. For a first offense there is a license loss from 3 months up to one year. The length of the suspension increases for subsequent offenses. The attorneys at our firm have decades of experience handling DWI’s and can help you keep these suspensions to a minimum. For more detailed information on DWI suspensions visit our New Jersey DWI and Related Offenses page for a detailed chart of the fines and penalties.
Q. IF I AM CONVICTED OF A DWI WILL I HAVE TO PAY FINES TO THE COURT?
A. Yes, there are fines that must be paid for a conviction of DWI ranging from $250 up to $1000 depending on the circumstances. In addition, there are mandatory court imposed penalties that must be paid including a $1,000 a year surcharge for three years. For more information on the NJ DWI fines click here.
Q. IS THERE A CHANCE THAT I COULD GO TO JAIL FOR A DWI CONVICTION?
A. The short answer is yes. For a first offense the statute calls for a possible jail sentence of up to 30 days. However, with the help of an experienced attorney jail sentences are usually not imposed on first offenses.
Q. WILL THE COURT REQUIRE ME TO INSTALL AN INTERLOCK DEVICE ON MY VEHICLE?
A. If you are convicted of, or plead guilty to a DWI, there is a possibility of the court requiring you to put an ignition interlock device in your car. The interlock device is a machine similar to a breathalyzer that requires the operator to blow into a tube in order to start the vehicle. If the device detects alcohol in amount of .005 or greater the vehicle will not start. In the case of a conviction for Refusal to Submit to the Breathalyzer the installation of an interlock is mandatory. For more information on the Interlock Device we suggest you visit our Ignition Interlock Device page.
Q. WILL I BE PERMITTED TO DRIVE TO WORK OR SCHOOL DURING THE PERIOD OF MY SUSPENSION?
A. Unfortunately, the answer is no. Unlike some states, New Jersey does not have a program that allows people with suspended licenses to drive to work or school.
Q. WHAT IS THE INTOXICATED DRIVER RESOURCE CENTER?
A. The Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or IDRC is a mandatory program for any person convicted of DWI in New Jersey. For a first offense, the potential IDRC term ranges from 12 -48 hours. During the program offenders attend alcohol and highway safety education courses and are evaluated to determine if they need further alcohol treatment.
Q. WHAT DOES IT COST TO HIRE A LAWYER FOR A DWI CASE REPRESENTATION?
A. Our firm handles all DWI cases on a flat fee basis. This fee includes all pre-trial court appearances and meeting with the clients. While there may be additional fees for trials, our attorneys understand the economic realities facing our client’s and keep all fees reasonable. Please feel free to contact us for a free consultation regarding your DWI or Refusal case.
MIDDLETOWN NJ DWI LAWYER
As you can see the consequences for a DWI or refusal conviction are harsh. However, qualified and experienced attorneys like the Wilton Law Firm will make sure your rights are protected and help you every step of the way.
*Please be advised that this information is not intended to constitute legal advice and the statute or an attorney should be consulted in every case.